Logo_SBH_4C_neg

 

Now available for investors!
FIND OUT MORE
suedbahnhotel

The Suedbahnhotel Semmering

The original Suedbahnhotel Semmering (also called “Hotel Semmering” or “First Suedbahnhotel”) was the 1st Hotel am Semmering at all and was opened in 1882 at the foot of Pinkenkogel Mountain–at precisely 1000 m above sea level. The Suedbahnhotel am Semmering was one of several grand hotels along the Suedbahn route from Vienna to Triest which were commissioned in order to stimulate the tourism in the respective regions and also the Suedbahn route from the privileged K. u. k. Suedbahngesellschaft. Semmering was already easy to reach at this time through the pioneering accomplishment of the Semmering Railways and was consequently expanded to create a popular holiday and spa resort. Semmering was popular with Viennese society as well as with the multi-national guests from all levels of the royal monarchy. Fin de Siècle and Belle Époche are two eras at the end of the 19th century and/or at the beginning of the 20th century which were characteristic for the Suedbahnhotel Semmering, but not just from social-political and sports history perspectives. A section of the Austrian tourism history also had its start here.

Currently, the opportunity exists to acquire the fairy-tale and spaciously-constructed “Second Suedbahnhotel” in order to be able to continue to develop it with a corresponding usage concept and to be able to sustainably preserve a unique architectural jewel. Both the micro- and the macro-situations of the Suedbahnhotel Semmering offer quite interesting and innovative opportunities which are worth acknowledging and promoting. The Suedbahnhotel Semmering is by no means dead: It is merely sleeping and waiting to be kissed to be awakened because it can continue to tell you many stories as well as convey a historical patina which cannot be overlooked and a lively atmosphere.

Excellent location and accessibility:

A6 – motorway exit  Semmering/Maria Schutz ~ 5 km

Suedbahn railway – station Semmering ~ 2 km

VIE – Vienna International Airport 103 km (~ 60 Min.)

Airport Graz 119 km (~ 78 Min.)

Airfield Wiener Neustadt East 53 km (~ 34 Min.)

Airfield Voeslau-Kottingbrunn 63 km (~ 38 Min.)

Facts:

The “Second Suedbahnhotel” has a total floor area of 10.500 sqm

The “Second Suedbahnhotel” has 33.014 sqm own land


zitat

Historical, iconical & unique! A magical jewel of the Austrian architectural, social and tourism history

est. 1882
chronik

Chronicle

“The international grand hotels of the k.k. Suedbahngesellschaft–whether in front of the backdrop of the Dolomites in Toblach, the azure-blue Adriatic in Abbazia/Opatija or the powerful Rax Mountains near Semmering–are world-famous architectural monuments of the Austrian past.”

Mag. phil. (Master’s Diploma Holder in Philosophy) Désirée Vasko-Juhász,
Art Historian and Journalist,
ÖGDO-Board Member

Österreichische Gesellschaft für Denkmal und Ortsbildpflege (Austrian Society for Monument and Local Historical Heritage Site Protection)
Author of the architectural and scientifical book “Die Suedbahn – Ihre Kurorte und Hotels”

The Milestones of the Developmental History of the Suedbahnhotel Semmering below:


|   19.09.1879

Purchase of the real estate plot (including the building) from Semmering farmer Polleros around 4000 Florin through a consortium around the sculptor and the academic painter Franz Schoenthaler sen. (1821 – 1904) and the General Director at that time of the K.u.k. priviligierte Austrian Suedbahngesellschaft (Imperial and Royal Privileged Southern Railways Company), Friedrich Julius Schueler (1832 – 1894)

|   29.05.1881

Formal ground-breaking ceremony for the construction of the “Hotel Semmering” (the Suedbahnhotel was referred to in the beginning as the “Hotel Semmering” or retrospectively also as the “First Suedbahnhotel”). The architect of this First Suedbahnhotel at Semmering was architect Franz Wilhelm. The selected building style was the “Swiss style”

|   15.07.1882

Opening of the Hotel Semmering (60 rooms) with champagne. The basis for the rapid tourism and also societal
development of the Semmering region was thus laid. For the tourism in Austria, the construction of this hotel was already then of far-reaching importance as well as all grand hotels of the K. u. k. priv. Suedbahngesellschaft for the invigoration of the Suedbahn route from Vienna to Trieste. Additional grand hotels of the K. u. k. priv. Suedbahngesellschaft were and/or are located in: Abbazia, currently known as Opatija (Croatia, 1884) and Toblach (southern Tyrol, 1878)

|   1889

Construction of the elegant Waldhof annex (50 rooms) in close proximity to the Suedbahnhotel. This had become necessary because the Suedbahnhotel was constantly completely booked and, on the other hand, in order to be able to appropriately house the aristocratic guests. As the result of a major fire, the Waldhof annex was reconstructed in 1893/1894 based upon the plans of Josef Daum. On 22 March 1902, a second fire broke out. As a result, the Waldhof annex was not able to be used temporarily until December 1902


|   1901 – 1903

Construction of the Second Südbahnhotel (also referred to as the Palace Hotel) directly adjacent to the restaurant of the First Suedbahnhotel under the management of the architects Alfred Wildhack and Robert von Morpurgo

|   1906 – 1908

New construction of the steam laundry business which was operated until 1960. In 1993, the real estate property (approx. 1 km away from the Suedbahnhotel) was acquired by the building contractor Otto Geiger and converted into residential housing

|   1908

Third construction phase of the Südbahnhotel: Construction of the post office and telegraph office as well as a coffee house. Architect: Alfred Wildhack

|   1912/13

The largest construction phase of the Suedbahnhotel was this expansion in which, firstly, a new dining room was constructed which was linked via a passageway to the Waldhof. Secondly, the old restaurant (1882) was torn down and a new 3-storey restaurant was constructed. During this construction phase, two old German beer bars were constructed as well as a modern cinematic theatre. The wide-ranging renovation produced a completely new room organisation and organisational processes. After it was completed, the Suedbahnhotel had at that time, including the Waldhof and all annexes, approx. 350 guest rooms. Architect: Alfred Wildhack

|   1922

The hotel central section was heightened with an attic. The central section – the Director’s flat was also located here – was used exclusively for operational purposes

|   1926

Opening of the Semmering Golf Course, the 1st and thus oldest golf course in Austria, where once the ski-training area and the ski-jumping hill of the Suedbahnhotel were located. Still located there today, the “Meierei” (Dairy Farm) was originally a farm which was acquired in 1885 by the Suedbahngesellschaft. It was renovated around 1902 to become a picturesque breakfast pension with dairy farm operations. Peter Rosegger (a famous Austrian author, 1843 – 1918) was also a guest at the Suedbahnhotel

|   1928 – 1931

The Suedbahnhotel’s garage was constructed on the site of the old horse stables. Planning: Emil Hoppe and Otto Schoenthal (both Otto Wagner pupils). The garage was located below the Suedbahnhotel, was torn down in 1982 and replaced with residential housing

|   18.08.1932

Opening of the very modern cubic “indoor swimming pool” in the Suedbahnhotel with terraces. The pool itself has dimensions of 20 x 8 m. Architects: Emil Hoppe and Otto Schoenthal

|   1932 – 1934

Expansion and redesign of the hotel entrance area to form a function, modern and spacious entrée area, construction of an American bar in the hotel lobby. The ceiling downstand beams and columns in the four-axis hotel lobby were adorned with wood in the Neo-Empire style. Architects: Emil Hoppe and Otto Schoenthal

|   1939 – 1940

Military hospital operation

|   1940 – 1942

Hotel

|   1942 – 1945

Military hospital operation

|   1945 – 1947

Russian occupation

|   12.05.1948

Reopening of the hotel by the DOSAG (Donau Save Adria Eisenbahngesellschaft)

|   1971

Sales of the hotel to a Carinthian private company

|   1974

Conversion of the “First Semmering Hotel” from 1882 into condominiums and the separation from the “Second Suedbahnhotel”

|   1976

Cessation of hotel operations

|   1980

Aquistion of the “Second Suedbahnhotel” by the Suedbahn Ges.m.b.H.

|   1993

Aquisition of the “Second Suedbahnhotel” by the currenty owner

|   seit 1994

Conducting essential restoration work in order to preserve the “Second Suedbahnhotel” (e.g. completely new roof, partial fundamental upgrading of the building technology, incl. technical preparatory work for the expansion work, on-going maintenance of the real estate plots of the Suedbahnhotel, and much more)

|   2000 – 2010

The Suedbahnhotel was, respectively in the summer, the venue of the always sold-out “Reichenauer Festspiele (Reichenau Festivals)” with works from, among others, Thomas Mann – „Der Zauberberg (Magic Mountain)“, Karl Kraus – „Die letzten Tage der Menschheit (The Last Days of Humanity)“ and Arthur Schnitzler – „Das weite Land (The Wide Land)“ and „Traumnovelle (Dream Novellette)“

heritage

High society …

A brief extract of prominent guests of the Suedbahnhotel:

Erzherzog Albrecht, Eduard Ritter von Engerth (Teacher, Director of galeries, Art Writer and Artist of portraits of the imperial family as well  the gentry, Designer of the wall decoration of the Imperial loge in the Vienna State Opera House), Princess Maria of Greece with her family, His Royal Highness Prince and Princess Elmer von Lonyay, Graf Dubsky, Ida von Ferenczy (Sternkreuz – Orden lady and longtime confidante of Empress Elisabeth), Baron Franz Kubinsky, Prof. Dr. Sigmund Freud, Queen Maria of Rumania as well relevant artists like:  Gustav Mahler (Director of the Viennese Imperial Opera House) with his wife Alma Mahler, Oskar Kokoschka, Egon Friedell, Peter Altenberg, Adolf Loos with his wife Lina, Franz Werfel, Gerhard Hauptmann, Otto Zarek, Hans von Huelsen, Adrienne Gessner (Actress at the Viennese Burg-Theatre), Kolo Moser (Co-founder of the Viennese Secession and the Wiener Werkstaette resp. Vienna’s Workshops), Karl Kraus and many many more…

Visit of the Queen Maria of Rumania at the Suedbahnhotel in summer 1932
panorama

360° panoramic photographs

Pano1_Berg

Panoramic view from Suedbahnhotel

Pano2_Speisesaal

Large dining room

Pano3_Suedansicht

Suedbahnhotel south evaluation

Pano4_Waldhofsaal

Waldhof-Hall

video

Suedbahnhotel Semmering & region Semmering aerial video

an inspiring video showing breathtaking aerial shots of the wonderful Suedbahnhotel as well as the region Semmering

Video
stay-in-touch
bucher

Books about the Suedbahnhotel Semmering

Metroverlag

Das Suedbahnhotel
Am Zauberberg des Fin de Siècle

by Yvonne Oswald

Boehlau Verlag

Die Suedbahn
Ihre Kurorte und Hotels

by Désirée Vasko-Juhász

Interested?

Logo_SBH_4C_neg

 

Now available for investors!
FIND OUT MORE
suedbahnhotel

Das Südbahnhotel Semmering

Das ursprüngliche Südbahnhotel Semmering (auch “Hotel Semmering” oder “Erstes Südbahnhotel” genannt) war das 1. Hotel am Semmering überhaupt und wurde 1882, am Fuße des Pinkenkogels – auf genau 1000 m Seehöhe – eröffnet. Das Südbahnhotel am Semmering war eines von mehreren Grand Hotels entlang der Südbahnstrecke von Wien nach Triest, die zur touristischen Belebung der jeweiligen Regionen und auch der Südbahnstrecke, von der priviligierten K. u. k. Südbahngesellschaft, in Auftrag gegeben wurden. Semmering war, durch die Pionierleistung der Semmeringbahn, zu dieser Zeit bereits leicht zu erreichen und wurde folglich zu einem angesehenen Ferien- und Luftkurort ausgebaut. Semmering war bei der Wiener Gesellschaft, ebenso wie bei der multinationalen Gästeschar aus allen Teilen der K. u. k. Monarchie, beliebt. Fin de Siècle und Belle Époche sind zwei Zeitspannen am Ende des 19. bzw. am Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts, die nicht nur gesellschaftpolitisch und sportgeschichtlich für das Südbahnhotel Semmering prägend waren. Ein Teil der österreichischen Tourismusgeschichte nahm auch hier ihren Anfang.

Aktuell besteht die Möglichkeit das märchenhafte und großzügig gebaute “Zweite Südbahnhotel” zu erwerben, mit einem entsprechenden Nutzungskonzept weiter zu entwickeln und ein einzigartiges architektonisches Juwel nachhaltig bewahren zu können. Sowohl die Mikro- alsauch die Makrolage des Südbahnhotels Semmering bieten hier durchaus interessante und innovative Chancen, die es wert sind zu kennen und zu fördern. Das Südbahnhotel Semmering ist in keiner Weise tod, es schläft und wartet darauf wachgeküsst zu werden, denn es wird Ihnen weiterhin viele Geschichten erzählen können, sowie eine nicht zu verwischende historische Patina und lebendige Athmosphäre vermitteln.

Ausgezeichnete Lage und Erreichbarkeit:

A6 – Autobahnausfahrt Semmering/Maria Schutz ~ 5 km

Südbahn – Station Semmering ~ 2 km

VIE – Vienna International Airport 103 km (~ 60 Min.)

Flughafen Graz 119 km (~ 78 Min.)

Flugplatz Wiener Neustadt Ost 53 km (~ 34 Min.)

Flugplatz Vöslau-Kottingbrunn 63 km (~ 38 Min.)

Fakten:

Das “Zweite Südbahnhotel” hat eine Nutzfläche von 10.500 m²

Das “Zweite Südbahnhotel” hat 33.014 m² Eigengrund


zitat

Historisch, ikonisch & einzigartig! Ein Juwel der österreichischen Architektur-, Gesellschafts- und Tourismusgeschichte

est. 1882
chronik

Chronik

“Die internationalen Grandhotels der k.k. Südbahngesellschaft – ob vor der Dolomitenkulisse in Toblach, der azurblauen Adria in Abbazia/Opatija oder dem mächtigen Raxmassiv am Semmering – sind weltberühmte Baudenkmäler der österreichischen Vergangenheit.”

Mag.phil. Désirée Vasko-Juhász ,
Kunsthistorikerin und Journalistin,
ÖGDO-Vorstandsmitglied,

Österreichische Gesellschaft für Denkmal und Ortsbildpflege,
Autorin “Die Südbahn – Ihre Kurorte und Hotels”

Nachfolgend die Meilensteine der Entwicklungsgeschichte des Südbahnhotel Semmering:


|   19.09.1879

Ankauf des Grundstückes vom Semmeringer Bauern Polleros um 4000 Florin, durch ein Konsortium um den Bildhauer und akademischen Maler Franz Schönthaler sen., sowie dem damaligen Generaldirektor der K.u.k. priviligierten österreichischen Südbahngesellschaft, Friedrich Julius Schüler (1832 – 1894)

|   29.05.1881

Feierliche Grundsteinlegung zum Bau des „Hotel Semmering“ (das Südbahnhotel wurde zu Beginn als „Hotel Semmering“ oder rückblickend auch als „Erstes Südbahnhotel“ bezeichnet). Der Architekt dieses Ersten Südbahnhotels am Semmering, im “Schweizer Styl” gebaut, war Arch. Franz Wilhelm

|   15.07.1882

Eröffnung des Hotel Semmering (60 Zimmer) mit Champagner. Die Basis für die steile touristische und auch gesellschaftliche Entwicklung der Region Semmering war somit gelegt. Für den Fremdenverkehr in Österreich war dieser Hotelbau schon damals von weittragender Bedeutung, ebenso wie alle Grand Hotels der K. u. k. priv. Südbahngesellschaft für die Belebung der Südbahnstrecke von Wien nach Triest maßgeblich waren. Weitere Grand Hotels der K. u. k. priv. Südbahngesellschaft befanden bzw. befinden sich in: Abbazia, heute Opatija (Kroatien, 1884) und Toblach (Südtirol, 1878)

|   1889

Bau der eleganten Dependancen Waldhof (50 Zimmer), in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Südbahnhotel. Dies war notwendig geworden, da das Südbahnhotel ständig ausgebucht war und andererseits, um das aristokratische Publikum standesgemäß beherbergen zu können. Ausgelöst durch einen Vollbrand, wurde 1893/94 der Waldhof nach den Plänen von Josef Daum wieder aufgebaut. Am 22. März 1902 brach ein zweiter Brand aus, wodurch die Dependance Waldhof bis Mitte Dezember 1902 vorübergehend nicht benützt werden konnte


|   1901 – 1903

Bau des Zweiten Südbahnhotels (auch Palasthotel genannt), unmittelbar anschließend an den Restau- ranttrakt des Ersten Südbahnhotels. Unter der Leitung der Architekten Alfred Wildhack und Robert von Morpurgo

|   1906 – 1908

Neubau der großen Dampfwäscherei, die bis 1960 betrieben wurde. 1993 wurde die Liegenschaft (etwa 1 km vom Südbahnhotel entfernt) vom Bauunternehmer Otto Geiger erworben und in ein Wohnhaus umgebaut

|   1908

Dritter Bauabschnitt des Südbahnhotels: Zubau des Post- und Telegraphentraktes, sowie eines Kaffeehauses. Architekt: Alfred Wildhack

|   1912/13

Die größte Bauetappe des Südbahnhotels war diese Erweiterung, bei der einerseits ein neuer Speisesaal- anbau mit dem Verbindungsgang zum Waldhof errichtet wurden, andererseits wurde der alte Restaurantflügel (1882) entfernt und 3-geschoßig neu aufgestockt. Im Zuge dieser Bauetappe entstanden auch zwei altdeutsche Bierstüberln, sowie ein modernes Kinotheater. Die weitrechenden Umbauten brachten eine vollkommen neue Raumorganisation im Hotelinneren und der Organisationsabläufe mit sich. Nach Fertigstellung hatte das Südbahnhotel damals, inklusive Waldhof und aller Dependancen etwa 350 Fremdenzimmer. Architekt: Alfred Wildhack

|   1922

Wurde der Hotelmitteltrakt um den Mansardenbereich erhöht. Der Mitteltrakt – hier befand sich auch die Direktionswohnung – wurde ausschließlich für Betriebszwecke genutzt

|   1926

Eröffnung des Golfplatz Semmering, dem 1. und somit ältesten Golfplatz in Österreich, wo sich im Winter einst das Schiübungsgelände und die Sprungschanze des Südbahnhotels befanden. Die noch heute dort befindliche „Meierei“ war ursprünglich ein bäuerliches Anwesen, das 1885 von der Südbahngesellschaft erworben. Diese wurde um 1902 in eine malerische Frühstückspension mit Meiereibetrieb umgebaut. Auch Peter Rosegger war hier zu Gast

|   1928 – 1931

Anstelle der alten Pferdestallungen wurde die Garage des Südbahnhotels errichtet. Planung: Emil Hoppe und Otto Schönthal (beide Otto-Wagner-Schüler). Die Garage befand sich unterhalb des Südbahnhotels, wurde 1982 abgerissen und durch eine Wohnungsanlage ersetzt

|   18.08.1932

Eröffnung des hochmodernen kubischen Zubaus des „Hallen-Schwimmbades“ im Südbahnhotel mit Terrassen- anlagen. Das Becken selbst hat ein Ausmaß von 20 x 8 m. Architekten: Emil Hoppe und Otto Schönthal

|   1932 – 1934

Verbreiterung und Umgestaltung des Hoteleingangsbereiches in einen funktionellen, modernen und großzügigen Entrée-Bereich, Einbau einer American-Bar in der Hotelhalle. Die Deckenunterzüge und Pfeiler in der vierachsigen Hotelhalle wurden im Stil des Neo-Empire mit Holz verkleidet. Architekten: Emil Hoppe und Otto Schönthal

|   1939 – 1940

Lazarettbetrieb

|   1940 – 1942

Hotelbetrieb

|   1942 – 1945

Lazarettbetrieb

|   1945 – 1947

Russische Besatzung

|   12.05.1948

Neuerliche Betriebseröffnung durch die DOSAG (Donau Save Adria Eisenbahngesellschaft)

|   1971

Hotelverkauf an eine Kärntner Privatgesellschaft

|   1974

Parifizierung des “Ersten Semmeringhotels” von 1882, mit der Schaffung von Eigentumswohnungen und Abtrennung vom “Zweiten Südbahnhotel”

|   1976

Einstellung des Hotelbetriebes

|   1980

Erwerb des “Zweiten Südbahnhotels” durch die Südbahn Ges.m.b.H.

|   1993

Erwerb des “Zweiten Südbahnhotels” durch den derzeitigen Eigentümer

|   seit 1994

Durchführung von essentiellen Restaurierungsarbeiten zur Bewahrung des “Zweiten Südbahnhotels” (z.B.: komplett neue Dachdeckung, teilweise grundlegende Erneuerung der Haustechnik, inkl. technische Vorbereitungen für den Erweiterungsbau, laufende Pflege der Grundstücke des Südbahnhotels, uvm.)

|   2000 – 2010

Das Südbahnhotel war hier, jeweils im Sommer, Veranstaltungsort der stets ausverkauften „Reichenauer Festspiele“, mit Werken von u.a. Thomas Mann („Der Zauberberg“), Karl Kraus („Die letzten Tage der Menschheit“) und Arthur Schnitzler („Das weite Land“ und „Traumnovelle“)

heritage

Die feine Gesellschaft im Südbahnhotel

Ein Auszug prominenter Gäste des Südbahnhotels:

Erzherzog Albrecht, Eduard Ritter von Engerth (Lehrer, Galeriedirektor, Kunst- schriftsteller und Maler von Portraits der kaiserlichen Familie und des Adels, sowie u.a. Ausstattung der Wanddekoration in der Kaiserloge der Wiener Staatsoper), Prinzessin Maria von Griechenland mit Ihrer Familie, Ihre königlichen Hoheiten Fürst und Fürstin Elmer von Lonyay, Graf Dubsky, Ida von Ferenczy (Sternkreuz- Ordensdame und langjährige Vertraute von Kaiserin Elisabeth), Baron Franz Kubinsky, Prof. Dr. Sigmund Freud, Königin Maria von Rumänien und maßgebliche Künstler wie: Gustav Mahler (Wiener Hofoperndirektor) mit Gattin Alma Mahler, Oskar Kokoschka, Egon Friedell, Peter Altenberg, Adolf Loos mit Gattin Lina, Franz Werfel, Gerhard Hauptmann, Otto Zarek, Hans von Hülsen, Adrienne Gessner (Burgschauspielerin), Kolo Moser (Mitbegründer der Wiener Secession und der Wiener Werkstätte), Karl Kraus, uvvm.

Besuch der Königin Maria von Rumänien im Sommer 1932 im Südbahnhotel
panorama

360° Panoramabilder im und um das Südbahnhotel

Pano1_Berg

Ausblick vom Südbahnhotel

Pano2_Speisesaal

Großer Speisesaal

Pano3_Suedansicht

Südbahnhotel Südansicht

Pano4_Waldhofsaal

Waldhofsaal

video

Südbahnhotel Semmering & Region Semmering Luftaufnahmen

Ein inspirierendes Video mit atemberaubenden Flugaufnahmen des wunderbaren Südbahnhotels
und der Region Semmering

Video
stay-in-touch
bucher

Bücher zum Südbahnhotel Semmering

Metroverlag

Das Südbahnhotel
Am Zauberberg des Fin de Siècle

von Yvonne Oswald

Böhlau Verlag

Die Südbahn
Ihre Kurorte und Hotels

von Désirée Vasko-Juhász

Interested?